The Canyon

N59BYOWHER-freestockphotosA bit of advice given to a young Native American at the time of his initiation: ‘As you go the way of life, you will see a great chasm. Jump. It is not as wide as you think.’ – Joseph Campbell, “Reflections on the Art of Living.”

As anyone who travels this canyon into oneself knows that its chasms cut deep. What’s                 expected runs amuck, the unexpected is in vogue and one must expect and accept the difference. Every time I held myself in amazement, overwhelmed at another crack discovered on the surface, another inkling of understanding, it was also matched by feelings of doubt and fear. Is it easier being numb, just grazing through life without  any direction or so we may believe at times.

It is when we wake up that we must make sense of all that’s seen through the dark glass. Because becoming aware is an addiction, one day a feeling’s experienced, “I can’t go back, impossible; I won’t ever be labeled beneath one set of influences again… for I am of this world and all the universe teaches me.”  

Like an island in a distant sea, one may think in terms of being alone, for this isn’t a path where the multitudes care to follow. But the soul in its infinite wisdom searches for its ‘other’. Thus, paths will cross within the boundaries of being where we find serenity, acceptance, and joy as the like-minded of the universe teach in the most auspicious of ways. It is when we hear, see and embrace these epiphanies do we finally get it… the experience of being alive and what chapter in that sacred book belongs to you.

This is the time I look up into the heavens, at the silhouettes of stars and acknowledge the great architect of the universe, in whatever name I bestow… Christ, Allah, or Shiva and his fiery dance, at the center where Oneness resides.

©jc2016-9

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

18 thoughts on “The Canyon”

  1. Such a great post JC. I keep repeating myself but your posts do ring so deep within.
    How true that it can be easier to stay numb, you miss most pain but also elation and joy.

    Yes, the path can seem lonely but we will find our “tribe” and that joy and recognition on a
    deeper level overshadows a journey that might appear lonely.
    Just love the music too.

    Thank you!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Yes, awareness id addictive or rather, once you’ve opened that door, it’s so hard and ever so tempting to crawl into mindlessness. Take care on your journey, may it be mindless on occasion 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A wonderful ode to epiphanies and the exhilaration and joy they can bring. Is there a chasm though that is perhaps to wide to jump? What to do then? Brilliant song – I’ve never heard it before but played it many times since on your post. I always feel I come away from them with new knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Annika, I am glad that my post brings you new knowledge. I’m not sure of the chasm’s you shouldn’t jump, I just know that there are so many we don’t jump out of fear. Yes, the song, I do the same thing, play it over and over again.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I found you on aopinionatedman.com. 🙂 So, I have to ask—is the first book on the left (in your header) Poe? If not, who is the author? It looks intriguing. I may have to find a copy. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really found this post inspiring and within it more resolve to embrace the unknown without fear. This is truly how we discover ourselves in connection to our universe…which we were meant to be an integral part of. Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much… yes Native Americans knew this and we are now realizing how much a part of the Universe we are as it is inside as well as outside.our being.

      Like

  6. Wow beautiful post, you’ve really captured something here!! ‘At the center where Oneness resides,’ that’s a beautiful line. People have all kinds of ways of explaining this realm, but I do believe there’s a Spirit which runs through us all 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

