Echo’s In The Dark- Words

“I would hurl words into this darkness and wait for an echo, and if an echo sounded, no matter how faintly, I would send other words to tell, to march, to fight, to create a sense of hunger for life that gnaws in us all,” -Richard Wright

In an old damp cave or a treasure chest under the sea, scattered amongst pages, worn out pencils and to-do list, I’ve collected fragments of writing without a home, with no prospects in sight. These words are to the point and do not own any lavish pretenses of grandeur. They simply speak their truth as directly as possible, such as the truth a child will convey out of sheer innocence.

I fear these fragments which splintered off from the rest of the crowd will fill volumes if I allow them as much and bring me to task for my truth. But I will do away with my unwarranted sense of fear and let this winding road of words take me where they may lead.

For it is these words when used in different form and measure tell the story of our lives. Such stories conjunct other stories creating a collective story, word by word. When perfected, and connected, the sound of music playing in perfect harmony is heard. They dance to the rhythm of meter and time on the road to meaning and understanding.

©jc2017-9

*photo courtesy of Pixabay

*adapted from, It’s Only Words and Short Verse For…

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

12 thoughts on “Echo’s In The Dark- Words”

  1. Those fragments of writing hidden away, words without pretences of grandeur. Those are the ones that should come out to play and mingle their truths with all other voices trying to reach the same.
    Let them fill volumes if they set you free.
    Miriam

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a bunker where I keep insane words, scribbles from another life. They seem like meaningless garble now. I love what you said about your treasure chest of words: “For it is these words when used in different form and measure tell the story of our lives.” So beautifully written, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

