A Package, Time Dilation, and Queen

The Package, Time, and QueenThe Package 02/23/01

Was this a dream of a dream born of the magic of the night sea. Or did it happen light years away at the speed of light from a new Earth past Demeter’s wistful eyes? Then again, does it really matter?

It was on my birthday when the package came. I was sitting at Gram’s house for an afternoon cup of coffee as we suddenly heard the driver at the front door. Given the fact we weren’t expecting anything, we were quite curious. I quickly gazed at the name on the box to see who it was for, and there was my name, much to my surprise. I looked for the name of the sender and I felt Gram stare at me with that familiar puzzled look on her face, for she saw it also, according to the label on the box, I sent the package to myself. Now that is a mystery in and of itself, but it’s the date the package is sent, that was surprising… it’s sent in the year 2025, 24 years in the future.

We opened the box carefully trying to hold back the urge to tear it apart. Once inside I took a quick notice of the content… license plates from all over the world, key chains and tea bags with a different quote on the back of each. Old postcards from various destinations; brochures for different events… music, plays, and dance.

As I studied the content, my hand grabbed a much smaller box, as I opened it, I became speechless as though I were seeing ghosts. It was a ring which I had lost years ago and now it sits in a box sent from the future, or so it seems. I quickly realized how absurd that sounded but it was the only thing I had to go on. My past self lost a ring and it’s sent back to me by my future self.

Time Dilation

A few years ago I became familiar with Einstein’s ‘Theory of Relativity. One of the effects of this theory is ‘Time Dilation’ which allows for motion in space to alter the flow of time. In other words, the faster one gets to the speed of light, one ages slower, according to the speed and distance traveled.

One understanding of this theory is ripe for science fiction buffs… time travel. For example, you have two individuals, one stays on earth, the other enters a spaceship and quickly sets out into space at close to the speed of light. Time in the ship would slow down in relation to the higher velocity and distance the spaceship travels compared to time on earth, thus the traveler in the spaceship would age slower than the person on earth. In comparison, time in the spaceship amounts to a few weeks whereas the relative time on earth amounts to a few years. So the longer one stays in space reflects upon the age of those on earth. On the return from space, you might find your children are suddenly older than you depending on your speed and distance relative to the speed of light.

39- In The Land That Our Grandchildren Knew

For the soundtrack of this post, we go to the band, Queen. The song is 39, released in 1975 and named so because it’s the band’s 39th release. The song is written and sung by guitarist Brian May. Called a space age folk song, it uses ‘Time Delation’ in space travel as it’s the main theme. And Brian May should be impassioned for this subject as he is also an astrophysicist.

©jc2017-9

Photo- Pixabay

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

15 thoughts on “A Package, Time Dilation, and Queen”

    1. Yes, I understand what you’re saying, there is a place beyond opposites that shouldn’t be according to our simple minds but the universe has secrets it shares on its own time which we see is vast.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. OH no, JC, I didn’t want you to finish The Package story…I was hooked and I get tinglingly reading time travel stories like this…this could go on and on…back and forth! A superb post and one that reminds me of my love of time-travelling fiction as young and Ray Bradbury was one of my favourites.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Superb post Jeff, I am totally taken by your dream about the package.
    Don’t want the story to end. Couldn’t you make a short story or other format tying it in with the time dilation.

    I can see the boy and his Gram and then when you talk about Time Dilation
    also see the separation that would take place between the ones we love
    and ourselves. An unexpected grief to meet.

    I also love the song you added. Thank you for using the lyrics, they bring us again back to reality on earth. His loved one has aged, the one he has been crying out for.
    🌟Mirja

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Mirja. Yes, maybe I will do a short story tying all these themes into a whole. The original story was a real dream I had years ago. Thanks for your lovely words.

      Like

  3. Fantastic story! Your space traveling has foreshadowed what Stephen Hawking just stated yesterday; that in 100 years, humans must colonize another planet or face extinction. Scary! I hope Hawking got his calculations wrong.

    I’d be amazed and a bit freaked at getting a package from myself in the future. I’m curious what the items in the box represent. The teabags with quotes and license plates from around the globe intrigue me. Oh, and Queen rocks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, I seriously hope he miscalculated too. The package as far as the content is concerned is a mystery I’m still trying to figure out. I keep coming up with travel and maybe that’s space travel. It is a little unsettling to get a package from the future. And yes, Queen does rock!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. A very interesting post, JC. I love to read about anything that pushes the boundaries of our mundane existence, as we know it. To me it symbolizes hope and progress and the best answer to “Is this it?”.
    Thank you- enjoyed it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks… I’ve always been interested in time travel and Einstein. Then I had the dream and I just had to write about it. It is hopeful and maybe we’ll take better care of the next planet…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

