Journey on the Night Sea

IMG_2165To me, dreams are part of nature, which harbors no intention to deceive but expresses something as best it can. -Carl Jung

All human beings are also dream beings. Dreaming ties all mankind together… -Jack Kerouac

Each night before sleep invades my eyes I sit contemplating the day and its gifts. I stare at the moon rising in the sultry air and take a walk late into the evening and pray to rid myself of any despairing thoughts. In due time, I finally fall asleep. It is then that the soul calls on the imagery of dreams to come to my rescue, a panoramic window of metaphoric wisdom.  Dreams will teach, illuminate, and cast a spell which allows me to live as my shadow self albeit only in my deepest sleep.

And as the morning appears, some dreams are forgotten bits and pieces that seem of no importance for now. While other dreams presented during my night’s journey, are allowed to escape from my subconscious mental fortress for the sake of the soul. I follow paths riddled with metaphors to guide me just as the new rays of the sun guide the earth for another round. In time, the dream will allow itself to be known and if I am open, the lessons learned are embraced.    

For what are dreams but whispers on the wind, the breath of God, whirled into the void of the universe for eons, touching everything under the sun, molding the human soul as to do its bidding, taking ground only to keep traveling an endless flight. What makes one entertain these epiphanies, to hold court to ideas that have a forgone conclusion as to any proof? To believe only when proof avails itself is to live only in the mind. To believe without proof is bliss.

©jc2016-9

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

21 thoughts on “Journey on the Night Sea”

  1. I love your healing practices in the evening JC; and the moon with such an unusual corona in deep dream blue.
    It is said that dreams are a necessary part of our lives. I see it as a guidance and a clearing of our fears and doubts. How true about listening and “embrace lessons learned”.
    Your last paragraph is pure poetic and spiritual, so beautiful and uplifting. May we live in bliss.

    Thanks also for the great song and I have enjoyed the video you have chosen.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you, Mirja. Yes, our dreams are one thing we all have in common. They define who we really are on a subconscious level and that is what needs the light of day.

      I’m glad you liked the video…

      Like

  2. This is a very dreamy post – hehe! Your connection to dreams seems to be on a deep spiritual plane, where they act as your guide and teacher. Although I wrote a thesis about Dreams in Kleist’s work and read a lot of Jung’s work for reference (which resulted in me NOT sleeping at all!), I don’t have the same experience. My dreams are still as vivid and adventurous, nightmarish or boringly normal as ever. Many centre on flying (followed by various crashes) reflecting my fear of said flying. Very obvious. Although dreams exist in another realm, it is one I don’t want to consider for too long!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that, ‘dreamy post’. I’ve read some of Jung’s writing on dreams and I’d have trouble sleeping too. I’ve written mine down for years and some are very weird but most I can figure out.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Wonderfully expressed, JC – this is how I experience dreams too, although I doubt I could put it into words so well. I especially liked your conclusion: “To believe only when proof avails itself is to live only in the mind. To believe without proof is bliss.” – I think this is true freedom.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is very nice, very thought-provoking. Personally, I have especially intense dreams, strong enough that when I awake, I have to spend a few minutes grounding myself in what was real and what wasn’t. At the same time, my memories of the dreams dissipate within the hour. If I want to remember any of the details, I have to scribble them down immediately, or they are lost forever. My writing desk is littered with index cards and post-it notes, emblazoned with phrases of temporary intensity. I often get my writing inspirations from that pile of fevered artifacts…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Yes, I have a pad on my nightstand as to write down my dreams right away or I’ll forget them except for flashes of scenes. So I have a few disk filled with my dreams throughout the years. And also to use these notes for inspiration. Thanks again…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

