So Long Andromeda

Deep inside an old wellIMG_0232
A perfect mansion exist
In the quiet of a stillness
At the heart of this world

One day I looked upon it
And I thought to move in
But for reasons unknown
I couldn’t stay long

Though I tried at will
To understand all the rules
Is my home in this world
Or the building out there

So I asked just one question
To the goddess of the well
Can one foot stay in?
While the other stays out?

She said with a grin
Don’t you realize, my friend
You did not ever leave
You just didn’t see
You will always be
In the quiet of a stillness
At the heart of this world

Andromeda in Mythology

Andromeda is the daughter of Cepheus and Cassiopeia of Aethiopia. Her mother brags Charles_André_van_Loo_-_Perseus_and_Andromeda_-_WGA13431about her beauty over the Nereids, the daughters of the sea-god Nereus. To punish her for such arrogance Poseidon, god of the sea sends Cetus, a sea monster to destroy Aethiopia.

The king consults the Oracle of Apollo who tells him there will be no respite unless his daughter’s sacrificed to the monster. Andromeda’s tied to a rock and just before the sea monster attacks, Perseus who is coming home after having slain the Gorgon Medusa, destroys the sea monster.  

Andromeda and Perseus get married, have seven sons and two daughters and live happily ever after.

Upon her death, Andromeda’s placed amongst the stars in the constellation Andromeda located in the Andromeda Galaxy … In the quiet of a stillness, at the heart of this world… Farewell!

©jc2015

 

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

10 thoughts on “So Long Andromeda”

  1. Such a very beautiful poem JC, I am uplifted. Your question to the Goddess makes me smile, her answer so wise and soothing.
    Fascinating part of Greek mythology – you are well read! I am glad poor Andromeda was saved and eventually got a place at the heart of this world.
    Poseidon stands huge and proud at the top of the Avenue in my home town ( Gothenburg).
    Bless

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Mirja! Only the Goddess could give such wise advice.

      Yes Poseidon, I may need to write about him, being such a mysterious figure engulfed in all that water.

      Like

  2. I love this poem, beautifully written with an important message to us all. I’m particularly moved by the final three lines.
    ‘You will always be
    In the quiet of a stillness
    At the heart of this world’

    Altogether a great poem JC and hope we get to see more in the future.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This makes me feel a little scared. I don’t know if it comes from the feeling it leaves me with of being very small in this wonderful world. I was writing some poetry myself yesterday but I don’t think I’m ready to share it with anyone.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. At first, they felt small and afraid then realized with the help from the Goddess that they were where they should be all along but didn’t see it…

      You should post your poetry… JC

      Like

Leave a Reply

