The Two Of Us

You and I have memories, longer than the road that stretches on ahead  IMG_1584                            -The Beatles 

Two from one! This is the root of suffering. Only perceive that I am one without two, Pure awareness, pure joy, and all the world is false.There is no other remedy!                             -Ashtavakra Gita 2:16 

I live my life in terms of two; all I think I am versus all I wish to be.  But it doesn’t end there, these terms of two divide into the mask I wear which society ascribes to me… father, son, brother, friend, citizen and so on… make a list and I see with my own eyes these ‘selves’ beyond two. I have selves that touch like a gray mist. Others are total opposites; so far apart that it’s a wonder they could ever coexist in one body, one mind.

But am I ever really just one even in a metaphysical sense? The body changes in substance as every day new cells take over for dying cells. I am not the same physical entity I was a week ago.  And new thoughts invade the mind and consciousness swells slowly taking in all that is subconscious. For a river never flows the same way twice and I am never the same minute by minute as I walk through this life. All I see, in terms of two and beyond…

What if I could be all that I hoped the universe to be, a micro to macro synergy; the things I strive for that all too often take a back seat… in total acceptance and proper intention for all that is with hatred toward none; to love oneself, not in a narcissistic sense but in honoring the vessel that carries and sustain me for to honor this ship is to honor all in terms of one.

Can I behold forms and patterns of nature’s perfection out of respect and awe with a sense of responsibility? To go forth without fear; different while not using that difference as a wedge… knowing all is one. Can I find a way to conjure that spirit and make it a reality… travel that holy road  to a hallowed ground, the quintessence, the fifth element, the holy spirit, being… in terms of one?

For what am I ultimately but a part of the whole and by default, a part of the secret behind the whole. And if the whole and the secret are one and I am a part of that sacred lineage, are they not of me… and are they not of you! Thus, there is not a circumference, only the center which is everywhere and contains all there is. And that includes the two of us.

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

17 thoughts on “The Two Of Us”

  1. “Thus, there is not a circumference, only the center which is everywhere and contains all there is. And that includes the two of us.”
    Thanks for this deep and spiritual post JC. This would be too long if I addressed each fascinating paragraph. It is so true about the river – wonderful . I do smile when you talk about all the roles we take on, yet being only the one being. All the boxes we are put in….ticks…yet, we are always the one. Part of the whole “one”.
    Bless

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you Mirja… l so appreciate your comments.

      I would love to hear you thoughts on the rest of it. You have a wonderful way of bringing out what’s hidden between my words.
      Blessed be… JC

      Like

    1. I use to be religious, in the proper sense of the word. Then I thought I was spiritual. Now I’m not sure if even that word describes what I am..

      Thanks for your comment!

      Like

  2. Truly a thought provoking piece. Poetic language and humbleness in the questions you ask about yourself, your purpose and your connection to the world. I particularly enjoyed this metaphor: “For a river never flows the same way twice and I am never the same minute by minute as I walk through this life.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your kind words. I repeatedly ask myself these questions and each time I’ve changed from what I was so these questions become meditations…. just like a river.

      Like

Leave a Reply

