Peace At Every Turn

RL2PEP40MR“Is there a difference between happiness and inner peace? Yes. Happiness depends on conditions being perceived as positive; inner peace does not.”                                   -Eckhart Tolle

One day not too long ago, a friend of mine said to me and I quote, ‘If I’d only find peace in my life then I know I’d be happy.” I thought about this and suggested that peace and happiness have nothing to do with each other as one is not inclusive of the other.

Peace is being able to sit in the storm of life and be tranquil in the face of adversity or good fortune. This doesn’t mean a lack of feeling, for we are emotional beings, but a certain calmness that emulates from within no matter what colors give expression to each moment. This allows for a certain faith that goes hand in hand; a harmony to our existence. And notice it’s not only the tough situations where we need to strive for peace. Joyous occasions can lead to stress and a lack thereof. The storm is the metaphor for life and all its circumstances.

Peace isn’t the absence of challenge in your life. It’s grasping the currents that sail forth out of the darkness of our own thinking thus sailing into calm waters.

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

14 thoughts on “Peace At Every Turn”

  1. and constantly adjusting the sails 🙂
    a wonderful post, I stumble back within Peace once in awhile…
    life in human form is not meant to be of peace all the time…I don’t
    think we could learn more if it was…we would exist in the flow,
    instead of living as part of the flow….
    Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I enjoyed them
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    maryrose

    Like

    1. Thank you for the comments and your visit to my site. It is always a pleasure… Yes, I’m afraid you’re correct. If it wasn’t for the darkness you couldn’t see the light… we need these points of stumbling on our charts that alter our path, make us stretch and grow. It seems the human form is just right for this. But I hope at lease we are learning something from where we’ve come and where we are going.

      Like

Leave a Reply

