Just Like Church

imagesakelynn“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived,”    -Henry David Thoreau

A beautiful Sunday morning; a chill is in the air, the sun is out, I get ready to take a four mile hike around Lake Lynne, the water level rose from last
evening’s rain making it enticing to all manner and species of duck as they glide through the muddy water… time to feed or bathe, the resident white swan holds court over her subjects as her mate watches in total awareness under a shady grove, next to him is a dead branch fallen into the water turned into a deck for sunbathing turtles… I count 20 or so, another tree shows evidence of a woodpecker building its home, Canada geese fly in formation from the north, squirrels gather nuts and scurry up trees for their winter stores…I see one such industrious little fellow using his teeth to cut twigs hauling them over to a recess in the tree to build his family home, across a small wetland a doe and her fawn are nervously looking for food behind a bale of thick brush, wading through the lake is a blue heron catching her morning meal, a red-tailed hawk flies overhead watching the whole scene as the trees seem to sway to music not found on an I-Pod, this is nature’s music, a symphony of sight and sound for all things in this wild heaven under the cathedral of the sky.

 

Published by

JC

I was officially diagnosed with Parkinson’s disease on October 29, 2012. These are my thoughts on Parkinson's and a variety of subjects.

6 thoughts on “Just Like Church”

  1. I’m hoping to get out and hike around a lovely place soon too. With the weather changing I have a feeling my mood will brighten with it and I hope yours will shine bright too this Spring!!!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment! And likewise I hope yours will shine brightly as well. It’s a funny thing that this year, more than others, more people seem to be celebrating spring as though it’s a national holiday and maybe it should be as it is a time of renewal. So happy spring!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

